Our History

Our Chapter's Story

47 Years of Impactful Service.

The Montgomery County (MD) Alumnae Chapter (MCAC) was chartered on March 7, 1970 by twenty-eight women under Past National President, Soror Lillian P. Benbow, and Past Eastern Regional Director, Soror Christine Moore. These twenty-eight sorors sought to perpetuate the heritage and ideals of the Founders in Montgomery County. Soror Doris P. Poole served as the first president. The charter members were concerned about the quality of life for African Americans in the county and for the community-at-large. They had the vision that Montgomery County could be a better place for all its citizens to live, work, and enjoy their leisure time.

Our Charter Members

Lois J. Ballard
Nettie Nash Banks
Queenie E. Boyd
Ozie Foster Brown
Ann Wilson Burke
Irene Snowden Curry
Guytanna H. DeGraffenreidt
Wilma King Fairley
Doris Watkins Fleming
Adranna R. Grant
Florence L. Henderson
Emma E. Isler
Gladys Chavis Jones
Celissi Ann DuRant Klugh

Gladys McGill Magwood
Ruth Carey McArtis
Patricia A. Winston Middleton
Jeanette Stephens Moye
Ruth H.J. Okurume
Mary Blount Overton
Doris Perry Poole
Helen Burse Snowden
Dorothy Lorraine Watson
Myra Coater Wesley
Dorothy Thompson Wilson
Jacqueline Shepard Williams
Amanda P. Winters
Charleise Toland Young

Active Members
Service Projects
Scholarships Awarded
Dollars Awarded in Scholarships